The New Moon

mon

I had a place among the best, those who shone and brightened,

I sparkled as I gave away my light , to light the way of the frightened.

I had the power to illuminate, a special shimmer to me.

I lighted the way when the night snatched the capability to see.

The stars envied me , I stood out from all the rest,

They tried to get attention, but I was always considered the best.

I was worshiped as the goddess of beauty, looking at me was everyone’s pleasure,

Humans even toured my surface, they thought the rocks covering me were a real treasure,

I glistened in the night sky , happy to be me.

It was only my light at night which enabled people to see.

My pride didn’t last forever, i started to disappear,

It was the first of the lunar month, the moonless sky was here!

~Saadia

6 thoughts on “The New Moon

Leave a Reply

