The Woodland Lake

index

When I extended my gaze

out towards that lake,

I saw in its depth,

another me staring back,

With curious eyes,

with a questioning look,

it asked me a question,

written in no book.

It asked me if I was still alive,

If I still enjoyed the little things,

If I still wished a wish for wings,

If I still give thanks to him,

for every bit,

for every thing.

If I still loved the dance

of the birds

If I still loved the clouds,

quenching the land’s thirst.

If I was still alive,

and was living my life,

why was I putting it at stake?

thinking of merging my unconcerned self,

with the clear, deserted

woodland lake.

~ Saadia

This is my entry for the Non – Love in More Than Ten Sentences challenge given to me by Nicodemas over at nicodemasplusthree. Thanks to you Nicodemas, I really enjoyed doing this.

This is a poem about a person who tries to commit suicide but his/her soul couldn’t let go and stopped him/her because he/she deserved to live , to love, to fight, to leave a mark on this world. This is not really a love poem but it is in a way that we love ourselves even when we have extinguished all sources of love, when we are alone, when no one seems to be there, we are there, just for ourselves. πŸ™‚

The rules for this challenge are easy. The word love must be in the poem, at least once. You need an adjective such as β€œunconcerned”. There must be more than ten lines, and you need to link to my site with your poem. I really had fun with this all thanks to nicodemasplusthree.

I nominate the following people if they are interested in participating in the challenge. No pressure, only if you want to:

1.Source of Inspiration

2.Author Erika Kind

3.Richard Ankers

4.Window With A View

5.Life Confusions

Β 

16 thoughts on “The Woodland Lake

  1. Wow, Saadia this was haunting and beautiful..especially the way you ended “why was I putting it at stake?
    thinking of merging my unconcerned self,
    with the clear, deserted
    woodland lake.”

    I liked the background inspiration for this. Wonderful post Saadia πŸ™‚

    Have a fantastic weekend ❀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

